Bob Wright Cup

The above competition will be held at Cabrera Lawn Bowling Club between Monday 14th January 2019 and Friday 22nd March 2019

Click here for results


World Bowls Rules will apply where not covered below:-

  1. The competition will take the form of a knockout.
  2. This competition is on a play by date format. Each game shall be played by the days and times scheduled; otherwise defaulting players will forfeit the game. It is the challengers responsibility to arrange dates and organise a marker.
  3. Two trial ends allowed and each player can decide for themselves how many bowls they would like (max. 4 each end)
  4. The winner of each game will be the first to 21 shots.
  5. You may visit the head after your third bowl.
  6. Dead ends to be replayed
  7. Late arrival. If a player is more than 15 minutes late or advises they cannot play, the game will be awarded to their opponent. Rule 2 will apply.
  8. Score cards are to be signed and timed by both players and handed back to the marker for verification.


This competition is for members who have not won a singles club competition at Cabrera LBC before. There were quite a few entries for this as Cabrera have had a lot of new members joining in the last twelve months.

The winner is the player who is the first to 21. The final was between Brian Willerton and Colin (Deano) Jones. Although both on really good form throughout the competition Brian reached the final in brilliant form and sadly for Deano Brian won the final 21-7 with 5 ends to spare. This, however, was Colin's third consecutive final so congratulations for that achievement alone and many congratulations to Brian, a worthy winner.

Photo Colin Jones

Previous Results

2018 runner up Bob Blackburn (left) and winner Ray Harris


2017 runner up Austin Crilly (left) and winner Steve Townsend


2016 runner up Kevin Riley (left) and winner Tony Wells


2015 Finalists - husband and wife - Ian Jackson (Winner) and Janet Jackson (Runner-up)

Left to Right Janet Jackson and Ian Jackson