Ladies Singles Club Championship

Click here for results


World Bowls Rules will apply where not covered below:-

  1. The competition will take the form of a knockout.
  2. Each game shall be played on the days and times scheduled - otherwise defaulting players will forfeit the game.
  3. Two trial ends allowed and each player can decide for themselves how many bowls they would like (max. 4 each end)
  4. The winner of each game will be the first to 21 shots.
  5. You may visit the head after your third bowl.
  6. Dead ends to be replayed
  7. Late arrival. If a player is more than 15 minutes late or advises they cannot play, the game will be awarded to their opponent. Rule 2 will apply.
  8. Score cards are to be signed and timed by both players and handed back to the marker for verification.


Cabrera Lawn Bowling Club held its two most prestigious competitions simultaneously between the 23rd January and the 2nd February 2020, namely The Ladies and Gent's Singles Club Championship. This competition is the first player to score 21 shots. This is a very sought after title as the champions name goes on the clubs board of honour.

As always there were some very good rounds and the two finals were contested between Colin (Deano) Jones and Malcolm Smallwood and Sylvia Byrnes and Penny Craig.

Malcolm started off the better in the Gent's final and after 6 ends was 9-1 up. Colin found some form and pulled back slightly but on the day Malcolm proved to be the stronger bowler and won quite comfortably 21-9.

A similar story in the Ladies final as Penny got off to a flying start with Sylvia trying her best to get into the game. Penny won 21-11 and as she was last year's beaten finalist and been on fantastic form for the last 12 months it was well deserved.

Many congratulations to both Malcolm and Penny, and commiserations to Colin and Sylvia. Many thanks also to the Umpires, Markers and spectators.

Photo; Penny with Sylvia

Previous Results




Photo; 2019 Champions David and Carole with the runners up Bob and Penny




2018 finalists Karen Rushton (runner-up left) and Winner Jean Smallwood




2017 Ladies and Mens Singles Club Champions Judy Abel and Denis Stoyles




2016 finalists - Winner Cecily Pickers (left) and Janet Jackson